Visit Anchorage recognized exceptional contributions to the visitor industry and the community as a whole with the 2023 Seymour Awards. The award winners were revealed April 14, 2023, at the Dena’ina Center. An annual tradition for Anchorage’s tourism community, the Seymour Awards had been on hiatus since the last banquet was held in 2019.

Photos from the Seymour Awards - Aurora Nights

This year’s awards recognized individuals and businesses demonstrating excellence in 10 categories, with several awards given out to more than one deserving recipient.

Volunteers of the Year - Bryan Silva, Robert Elliot

Contribution to Community award - Tim Worthen, Peter Grunwaldt, Josh Howes

Tour Operator of the Year - Alaska Photo Treks Carl Johnson

Meeting Planner of the Year - Bonnie Carroll, Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors

Visitor Industry Advancement - Hilltop Ski Area

All Alaskan Award - Rich Owens, Mary Pignalberi

Philanthropic Tourism Award - The Bait Shack

Lifetime Achievement Award - Dan McDonough

Member of the Year - Anchorage Golf Course

Small Biz member of the Year - Alaska Helicopter Tours

Tamae Seto of Kodiak and Heather Reiss were also announced as this year’s recipients of the Tania Hancock Memorial Scholarship, given to Alaska students pursuing educational opportunities. The Seymour Awards also highlighted 14 member businesses recognized for their longstanding commitment to the industry as the final class of Visit Anchorage’s Charter Members.

Congratulations to each of the 2023 nominees and Seymour Award recipients.