The Visit Anchorage Board of Directors has approved the following slate of candidates, as prepared by the Nominations & Elections Committee, for the 2021 election. There are 12 candidates for seven seats, each a three-year term beginning in January 2022. Here are the candidates for Visit Anchorage's Board of Directors election: 

Allison Bendis
Klondike Promotions
Services - Professional
Adriel Butler (Incumbent)
Aurora Expeditions
Trip Planning & Vacation Packages
Jin Chen (Incumbent)
Brilliant Connection Consulting
Services - Professional
Lanie Downs (Incumbent)
Cruise Lines International Association Alaska (CLIA Alaska)
Agencies & Organizations
Amanda Gordon
Aspen Suites Hotel
Scott Habberstad (Incumbent)
Alaska Airlines
Glen Hemingson
Alaska Skylar Travel
Trip Planning & Vacation Packages
Jacob Lyon (Incumbent)
Premier Alaska Tours
Trip Planning & Vacation Packages
Char McClelland
Alaska Destination Specialists
Services - Events, Group & Meeting Planners
Michele Robuck (Incumbent)
Alaska Mint
Retail & Shopping
Kate Sprout (Incumbent)
Hilton Anchorage
Sonya Wellman (Incumbent)
Rasmuson Foundation
Agencies & Organizations

According to Visit Anchorage bylaws, "An additional candidate(s) may be nominated by petition signed by not less than 15% of the Designated Representatives in good standing with the Bureau (Visit Anchorage), and filed with the Bureau (Visit Anchorage) within 15 days after the notification date of the Board slate of candidates." The deadline to file nomination by petition is no later than 4:30 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 9, 2021. For additional information please contact Julie Saupe at

In early November, each official designated voter of the Visit Anchorage membership in good standing will receive a ballot along with a pre-addressed, postage-paid envelope for convenient return. Working from home? Ballots are mailed to your primary address, so make plans to check your office mailbox.

Decisions made by our Board of Directors affect how Visit Anchorage represents your interest in the local, state, and national visitor and convention markets. Please vote and return your ballot to Visit Anchorage, ensuring it is received on or before Friday, Dec. 3, 2021, by 4:30 p.m. 

Congratulations to our slate of candidates!